STUDENT ASSISTANT SPOTLIGHT – BRADLEY

EVER WONDER WHO IS THE ONE BEHIND THE PHONE OR GREETING YOU AT THE CENTER FOR CAMPUS LIFE? GET READY TO GET UP-CLOSE AND PERSONAL WITH OUR STUDENT INTERNS! YOU’LL BE HEARING FROM THEM DIRECTLY OF SOME OF THEIR MOST EMBARRASSING MOMENTS, LIFE DESIRES, AND SECRET TALENTs.

BRADLEY BLACKMAN


Bradley

Hometown: Littleton, Colorado | Major: Marketing

Center for Campus Life Student Assistant

Hobbies: Watching movies • Exploring Lubbock • Sleeping


What do you like the most about your job? 

When it comes to my job as a student assistant, I absolutely love the atmosphere of the office. Everyone who works in the Center for Campus Life has such much fun throughout the day and I am so glad they choose to involve the student assistants as well. It’s as if we are one big crazy family in that office!

What’s your most embarrassing moment?

I would probably have to say the first day of my freshman year here at Tech. It was the first day of class and I thought I was doing so well for a new student; until I realized I was in the wrong classroom and had decided to sit in the very front row. And, to top it all off, on my way out of the lecture I had the misfortune of tripping up the stairs and making a complete fool of myself in front of a class full of upperclassmen.

What have you always wanted to do, but never done? 

I have always wanted to go skydiving. Weird thing about this is that I have an huge fear of heights so it doesn’t make much sense in my head.

What TV show/movie are you ashamed to admit that you love?

I am hopelessly addicted to Grey’s Anatomy. I can’t even begin to describe how much I adore this show. I love it so much I am basically your local surgical expert just from all the episodes I have seen!

What has been your favorite class at Texas Tech? 

I think I may currently be in my favorite class (Check back with me after the semester and I have a finalized grade). It’s my ISQS class through the Rawls College of Business Administration. It’s taught in a real world business like atmosphere and I really enjoy that format.

What’s one food you wish had zero calories? 

Pizza…100% Pizza. Granted, even though it’s currently not zero calories Ill still enjoy pizza Tuesday as frequently as possible.

What is your typical day like in the office?

Every single day is so diverse that it’s hard to describe a “typical” day. Generally, as student assistants, we have the opportunity to help organizations out with any questions they have as well as assisting with any Fraternity and Sorority Life questions we may get.

What kind of music could we find on your iPod/iPhone?

My iPhone has such a wide variety of music on it that your guess would probably be just as good as mine! I have everything from pop to classical, to even genres like Latin American hip-hop

How did you hear about this position?

I was actually lucky enough to work with the Red Raider Orientation program for two years. Seeing as that program is hosted out of the Center for Campus Life, I was able to find out that they had an opening and I made sure to take the opportunity. I mean, it’s like orientation every day in that office!

Where’s one place you would like to travel to?

I’m actually really excited to be living this dream in the spring semester. I am currently in the process of planning a study abroad trip to Florence, Italy! I have always wanted to visit Italy and now I have the opportunity to study while exploring the beautiful country!

If you could be anybody for a day, who would it be and why?

I don’t know if this will count, but I would love to be myself from about 10 years ago! Back when I was a kid, I would wish and wish that I could finally be an adult. Now that I’m getting closer to that stage in life, I just want my recess and nap time back.

What is something interesting about you that not many people know?

Back when I was little I was a competitive gymnast. I was able to participate in gymnastics for 9 years and I really enjoyed it. I quit when I hit high school and was “too cool” to be involved in the sport. Now, thinking back, I really wish I had stuck with it.

Leave a Reply

