First Year Feature- Pat Bohn

FYFPat Bohn || Support Opperations for Academic Retention

pat2

Meet Patrick Bohn, the next person in our #FirstYearFeature series. Pat is the Assistant Director of the Learning Center within the SOAR department.

“Here at the Learning Center, we take pride in being a great resource for students, allowing them to be successful in their courses whether it’s us teaching them the skills or helping them directly with their course content. I would love to see every student utilize us.” – Pat Bohn


Q: What services does your office have for First Year Students at Texas Tech University?

SOAR has four specific programs related to retention for all undergraduate students here at Texas Tech.  For first year students, we can focus on two programs (The Learning Center and Supplemental Instruction).  The LC provides free tutoring in many subjects that students need assistance in:  Math, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, etc.  There is a schedule posted that students can view tutor availability and then come by when a tutor in that subjects is available.  Appointments are not necessary, as we run “drop-in” style.  Student can essentially let a tutor know that they plan on showing up by using GradesFirst.  We are open 8am-8pm (Monday through Thursday) and 8am-5pm (Fridays) with some evening online tutoring available through the week.  Supplemental Instruction offers peer-led review sessions in historically difficult classes across campus (Biology, Math, Chemistry, Physics, etc.).  These review sessions are led by SI Leaders (students) who have done well in that particular course and come back to audit the course and hold review sessions twice a week.  The SI Leaders are often recommended by the professor of the course and meet with the professors on a regular basis through the semester to ensure the most important material is being reinforced.

Q: What do you enjoy most about your job?

Personally, I enjoy being on a college campus.  I love the “feel” of it.  My college experience was where I figured out who and what kind of person I wanted to be.  It was a very formative time in my life, so I wanted to be in a situation where I could positively impact students.  I love college football so the Fall is my favorite time of year at TTU.

Q: What is your favorite thing about Texas Tech and why?

I met my wife here ate Texas Tech so it will always have a special place in my heart.  Working at Tech was my first job experience out of grad school.  My wife and I actually left for Dallas for a few years, but came back because we missed it.

Q: What is your favorite spot on campus?

Memorial Circle…I pass it every day to the office and then leaving the office.  The sunrises as I walk across Memorial Circle to Holden Hall are spectacular.

Q: What advice would you give first year students?

I think the most helpful piece of advice is to know the expectations of your professors and the university as soon as possible.  Many times students don’t realize the time and effort it takes to be a successful student in college.  As a full-time student, they need to realize that the expectation is that THIS is their full time job.  Just going to class isn’t going to cut it.  The time you spend outside of class  (studying, note taking, reviewing) is just as important.  Success isn’t easy but it is possible for everyone if you put in the time and effort.

Q: Looking back to your first year, what would you change?

What would you do the same? My first year was a LONG time ago (1997-1998)…I don’t know if I can remember back that far J.  I think that I underestimated the work necessary to be a good student.  Luckily, I learned pretty quickly and made adjustments that I needed to in order to give me the best chance at success.

Q: What is your favorite place to eat in Lubbock?

The Crafthouse Gastropub…the menu changes every season and you can get things no other place in town offers.

Q: What are some hobbies you have?

Watching college football and trying to be a good parent to my two kids.  My wife is kind of a big deal in my life…so I spend as much time with her as I can.

Q: What is your favorite Tech Tradition?

Wrapping Will Rogers and Soapsuds…you see that and you know its football season.  Gotta love that A&M gets the best view from the horse 🙂


More about SOAR:

Support Operations for Academic Retention provides services for Texas Tech students as a supplement to classroom and lab instruction, enabling them to achieve academic success and develop lifelong learning skills. Support Operations for Academic Retention will provide quality services to meet all the academic achievement needs for Texas Tech students by: 1. establishing collaborative relationships with faculty to strengthen the students’ educational experience; 2. increasing learning opportunities to foster an eagerness to learn and contribute toward lifelong learning for all Texas Tech students; and 3. ensuring that all students using any area of SOAR experiences full quality service addressing their personal and academic needs.

Connect with SOAR:

facebook  Facebook

twitter  Twitter

Leave a Reply

