First Year Feature- Jennifer Offutt

Jennifer Offutt || College of Education

Jennifer.jpg

Meet Jennifer Offutt, the next person in our #FirstYearFeature series. Jennifer is the Assistant Director of Marketing and Undergraduate Recruitment in the College of Education.

“Our Tech Teach program is getting national attention with the work that our current students are doing and the work our administrators are putting into the program. Our program is really intense, we require a lot more time in the classroom compared to other teacher prep programs across Texas, but because of that work, we have other universities wanting to mimic our program.” –Jennifer Offutt


Q: What services does your office have for First Year Students at Texas Tech University?

Our office provides guidance for students who are interested in earning teacher certification while at Texas Tech. Our office works closely with the Future Teachers Learning Community by providing events, guest speakers and resources to the students living in the LC.  We also work with our Education organizations to help students get involved within the College.

Q: What do you enjoy most about your job?

I love being able to work with students on campus. I work closely with our Learning Community, advising team and Education Ambassadors and through these outlets I feel like I get to know a lot of our students personally. I absolutely enjoy when students want to my office just to visit and tell me how things are going with school and their personal lives.

Q: What is your favorite thing about Texas Tech and why?

My favorite thing about Texas Tech is the campus community. I get to work with people all over campus and I think that really helps me be able to learn as much as I can about campus to share with students. I also love how the Lubbock community supports Texas Tech. On game days when you drive around town you will see Texas Tech flags out on a number on business lawns. I believe this shows our students that not only do they have support from Tech faculty and staff but also the community supports our students as well.

Q: What is your favorite spot on campus?

My favorite spot on campus is the Student Union Building (SUB). I feel like the SUB is the center of a lot of action on campus and there are always fun events for students.

Q: What advice would you give first year students?

My advice to first year students would be to look in to Study Abroad opportunities during your first year.  Tech offers numerous study abroad trips and it is a great way to learn about other cultures as well as earn course credit towards your degree.

Q: Looking back to your first year, what would you change? What would you do the same?

Looking back on my first year at Texas Tech I would have gotten more involved with campus organizations. I think if I would have gotten more involved from the beginning I could have met more people and made influential contacts.

Looking back on my first year at Texas Tech the one thing I would do the same would be living in the dorm. I had a great experience living in the dorm and I highly recommend it for all new students, even those who live in the Lubbock area.

Q: What is your favorite place to eat in Lubbock?

My favorite place to eat is Caprock Café. They have amazing queso!

Q: What are some hobbies you have?

I love to bake and decorate cookies and cupcakes

Q: What is your favorite Tech Tradition?

My favorite Tech tradition is Carol of Lights. I have always loved Christmas lights and I got engaged at the event in 2013.


More about the College of Education:

The College of Education at Texas Tech University is changing the way our future educators influence tomorrow’s leaders with our innovative undergraduate and graduate
programs. Working directly with school district partners statewide, community agencies and other institutions of higher education, we prepare our graduates for the unique professional demands of the 21st century.

The College is home to 1900+ students with two bachelors degrees, eight doctoral programs, twelve masters degrees and a variety of specialization and certification options.

Student Resources

Already enrolled? Check out the helpful documents, forms, and links in the Student Resources section.

Connect with the College of Education:

facebook Facebook

twitter Twitter

instagram Instagram

Leave a Reply

