First Year Feature- Shelley Johnson

FYF

Shelley Johnson || Student Business Services

Shelley

Meet Shelley Johnson, the next person in our #FirstYearFeature series. Shelley is the Trainer of Student Business Services.

“Student Business Services is the office that takes payment for tuition and fees, room and board, and everything. You can do it all in one place with us. We offer payment plans so you don’t have to pay it all at one time. If you have financial aid and are going to have excess money left over, we offer direct deposit of refunds to help you get your funds faster. If you are a little short at the beginning of the semester, we offer book loans to help you with some of the upfront expenses of your books and supplies. We are here five days a week to answer questions anytime you need help.” –Shelley Johnson


Q: What services does your office have for First Year Students at Texas Tech University?

SBS offers payment plans for tuition and fees, My Direct Deposit for student refunds, and book loans to help out with beginning-of-term expenses.

Q: What do you enjoy most about your job?

I look forward to Red Raider Orientation every year. I enjoy working with our student leaders on the RRO Crew, and it’s fun to see our new students (and their families) get excited to be Red Raiders.

Q: What is your favorite thing about Texas Tech and why?

I love the TTU community of faculty and staff. There’s something very cool about being part of a team whose mission is education. I’m proud to be part of it.

Q: What is your favorite spot on campus?

I really like the statue called “The Way West” by Gordon/West Halls. It reminds me of a passage from one of the Harry Potter novels, where Xenophilius Lovegood has made his own replica of what he thinks the diadem of Rowena Ravenclaw looks like. (You can see the statue here: http://texastech.edu/fpc/public-art/walking-tour/FLASH/index.html)

Q: What advice would you give first year students?

GO TO CLASS!

Q: Looking back to your first year, what would you change? What would you do the same?

If I could get a do over, I would definitely ask more questions. I didn’t want to look like a “dumb freshman” back then, but now I know asking questions is how you  get the most out of your education. Even with a do over, I’d still join a student organization. Getting involved is a great way to meet people and be an active part of the Red Raider community.

Q: What is your favorite place to eat in Lubbock?

I love MamaRita’s Border Café. It’s really good, reasonably priced West Texas Tex-Mex and you can only find it in Lubbock. They make six different salsas. I dare you to try the Holy Jalapeno.

Q: What are some hobbies you have?

I go to the movies every chance I get. When I can’t go to the movies, I read.

Q: What is your favorite Tech Tradition?

I love Raider Red. Maybe it’s the mustache.


More about Student Business Services:

Got Questions? We got answers!

Click here.

TRY THE NEW TUITION ESTIMATOR

Calculate the cost of Fall 2016 and Spring 2017 tuition based off of the new differential tuition pricing. Click here.

Connect with Student Business Services:

facebook Facebook

twitter Twitter

Leave a Reply

