Student Assistant Spotlight-Haleigh


EVER WONDER WHO IS THE ONE BEHIND THE PHONE OR GREETING YOU AT TRANSITION & ENGAGEMENT? GET READY TO GET UP-CLOSE AND PERSONAL WITH OUR STUDENT ASSISTANTS! YOU’LL BE HEARING FROM THEM DIRECTLY OF SOME OF THEIR MOST EMBARRASSING MOMENTS, LIFE DESIRES, AND SECRET TALENTS.Haleigh

Haleigh Erramouspe

Transition & Engagement Student Assistant

Hometown: Corona, NM | Major: Agricultural Communications

Hobbies: Reading • Watching Netflix • Hanging out with friends

Organizations: Wool Judging Team • Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow (ACT) • Block and Bridle • Ambassadors for Agriculture


What is your dream job?
My dream job would be working with Agriculture in the Classroom. I would like to work for a state organization traveling across the state to teach agriculture to students, preferably in elementary school. I would also  be very interested in teaching agriculture internationally in developing countries. I love to travel and I currently plan on getting my Masters of Science in International Agriculture after completing my bachelors.

Why did you choose Texas Tech?
I chose Texas Tech partially because my mom went to college here and partially because I wanted a fresh start. The majority of my friends went to New Mexico State University and it was very tempting to go there. However, I knew exactly how my life would go if I went to NMSU and I really wanted a new perspective and a fresh start.

What is the best advice you have ever been given?
During a rough time, my ag teacher, Mr. Johnson once told me that when bad things happen to us we really have two choices—either we can get bitter, or get better. We can either let the situation control our attitude or we can control our attitude about the situation. This has really stuck with me and I try to remember it anytime something doesn’t go my way.

Who is your favorite professor and why?
My favorite professor is Dr. Courtney Meyers. She is teaching Communicating Agriculture to the Public, which is my favorite class I have been in so far. She is an excellent teacher and I am learning a lot in this class. She has been very willing to help me with a variety of things the past two semesters and has helped me grow as a writer and a student.

Why did you choose your major?
When I applied for Tech, I was an animal science major and I had been stuck on being a veterinarian for most of my life. However, while I was serving as a State FFA Officer my senior year of high school, I had the opportunity to travel to classrooms across the state and teach agricultural leadership workshops. I found that I loved to teach people about agriculture, especially elementary students. I also was able to see the evident lack of communication between producers and consumers and I wanted to do something to help. So, while I was at orientation, I changed from animal science to agricultural communications and I have loved it ever since.

Do you have any pet peeves?  
My biggest pet peeve is someone reading my phone or computer screen over my shoulder.

If you could only have one food for the rest of your life, what would you choose?
If I could only have one food for the rest of my life, it would be coffee. I drink at least one cup every morning, and I’m pretty sure I couldn’t live without it.

Tell us a joke.
What do you call a happy farmer? A jolly rancher!

What is your favorite movie/TV show?
My favorite TV show is Grey’s Anatomy.

 

Leave a Reply

