Student Assistant Spotlight-Alex

 


EVER WONDER WHO IS THE ONE BEHIND THE PHONE OR GREETING YOU AT TRANSITION & ENGAGEMENT? GET READY TO GET UP-CLOSE AND PERSONAL WITH OUR STUDENT ASSISTANTS! YOU’LL BE HEARING FROM THEM DIRECTLY OF SOME OF THEIR MOST EMBARRASSING MOMENTS, LIFE DESIRES, AND SECRET TALENTS.Alex

Alex Brown

Transition & Engagement Student Assistant

Hometown: Katy, TX | Major: Biology

Hobbies: Playing Guitar • Working Out at the REC

Involvement: Red Raider Orientation Captain • College of Arts and Sciences Student Ambassador


What do you like most about your job?

I enjoy working in multiple positions with Transition & Engagement, for it offers me the opportunity to make connections with diverse individuals across campus.

Do you have any nicknames?

Many of my friends call me “DJ A-Bro”, because I am always trusted to play the best music when handed the aux cord on road trips.

Why did you choose Texas Tech?

As a child, I was constantly traveling to Texas Tech to visit my sister, who also went to school here. I fell in love with the family atmosphere of inclusiveness and tradition. When it came time for me to apply for colleges, my adoration of Tech’s values and my desire to put myself out of my comfort zone by moving far away from home made Tech my clear first choice

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years, I see myself working as a pharmaceutical representative. This position combines my passion for biology with my love of interpersonal communication and allows me to work and travel outside the office.

Name one thing you can’t live without.

I cannot live without coffee.

If you could travel to anywhere in the world, where would you go and what would you do?

I would travel to Europe and hop from country to country.

You can only eat one food for the rest of your life. What would you choose?

If I could only eat one food the rest of my life, I would choose tacos. One taco a day keeps the doctor away.

Do you have any hidden talents?

I can say the alphabet backwards. It is a quirky trick to surprise people with that my grandfather taught me as a kid.

If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

If I could have any superpower, I would want the ability to read minds.

Leave a Reply

